Stakeholder Planning Group

The FRA is engaging Midwest stakeholders through a Stakeholder Planning Group (SPG) to help guide study elements and provide input and feedback on the plan. Over 40 representatives from different organizations including state departments of transportation (DOTs), local governments, metropolitan planning organizations (MPOs), railroads, public and private passenger rail operators, transit agencies and other regional and statewide planning organizations are involved in stakeholder outreach efforts. 

Jump to:

Lead Stakeholders

A small group of lead stakeholders, comprised of state DOTs and the Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Commission (MIPRC), is providing more intensive feedback and guidance. These lead stakeholders include:


John Oimoen
Deputy Director, Office of Intermodal Project Implementation
Illinois Department of Transportation



Katherine England
Director, Multimodal Planning & Programs
Indiana Department of Transportation



Amanda Martin
Freight and Passenger Policy Coordinator
Iowa Department of Transportation



John Maddox
Freight and Rail Unit
Kansas Department of Transportation



Tim Hoeffner
Director, Office of Rail
Michigan Department of Transportation



Dan Krom
Director, Passenger Rail Office
Minnesota Department of Transportation



Eric Curtit
Railroad Administrator, Multimodal Division
Missouri Department of Transportation



Abe Anshasi
Manager, Rail Section
Nebraska Department of Roads


north dakota

Scott Zainhofsky
Director for Planning & Asset Management
North Dakota Department of Transportation



Matthew Dietrich
Executive Director, Ohio Rail Commission
Ohio Department of Transportation


South Dakota

Joel Jundt
Deputy Secretary
South Dakota Department of Transportation



Jeff Weigand
Division of Business Management
Wisconsin Department of Transportation


Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Commission (MIPRC)

Laura Kliewer

Supporting Stakeholders

A group of supporting stakeholders is also providing feedback during the planning process. These stakeholders include local governments, MPOs, railroads, public and private passenger rail operators, transit agencies, and other regional and statewide planning organizations. The supporting stakeholders are:

Mid-America Regional Council
Ron Achelpohl, PE    
Director of Transportation and Environment

Midwest High Speed Rail Association
Rick Harnish
Executive Director

Metropolitan Planning Organization of Johnson County      
Brad Neumann    
Assistant Transportation Planner     

National Association of Railroad Passengers
Jim Mathews    
President and CEO    

Norfolk Southern    
John Edwards  
General Director Passenger Policy 

Northwestern University    
Joseph L. Schofer    
Associate Dean    

Omaha - Council Bluffs Metropolitan Area Planning Agency    
Greg Youell    
Executive Director    

Ramsey County Regional Railroad Authority
Tim Mayasich     

South Eastern Council of Governments
Lynne Keller Forbes    
Executive Director    

Southeast Michigan Council of Governments
Kathleen Lomako    
Executive Director    

Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis    
Mike McCarthy    

Union Pacific Railroad    
Mark Bristol    
Assistant VP, Network Development     

University of Illinois - RailTEC    
Christopher P. L. Barkan    
Executive Director    

Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute at North Dakota State University    
Denver Tolliver, Ph.D.    
UGPTI, Director    

Wichita Area Metropolitan Planning Organization    
Phil Nelson    



Mike Franke
Senior Director, Corridor Planning

BNSF Railway
Patricia Casler
Director, Suburban Services

Canadian National
Scott Kuxmann
Manager Passenger Operations

Chicago Department of Transportation
Jeff Sriver
Director, Transportation Planning & Programming

Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning    
Joe Szabo    
Executive Director    

City of Fort Wayne, Indiana/Northern Indiana Passenger Rail Association    
Dorothy Hagan    
Planner II, Treasurer of Northern Indiana Passenger Rail Association    

City of Lima, Ohio    
David J. Berger    

Conexus Indiana    
Steven F. Dwyer    
President & CEO    

Council of Great Lakes Region    
Mark Fisher    
Chief Executive Officer

CSX Transportation
Marco Turra
Director Passenger Services

Environmental Law and Policy Center    
Kevin Brubaker    
Deputy Director    

Greater Des Moines Partnership    
Joe Murphy    
Senior Vice President, Government Relations & Public Policy     

La Crosse Area Planning Committee    
Tom Faella    
Executive Director    

David Kralik, AICP    
Department Head, Long Range Planning

Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce     
Steve Baas    
Senior Vice President, Government Affairs